Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Do you know about Stitch Fix? If not, you should! Head on down to the bottom of this post to find out more, or keep reading for more on my May “fix”.

This month I asked my stylist for coordinating pieces to fill out my spring wardrobe and transition well into summer.  Some I knew instantly were “me” and others were way out of my comfort zone but were a pleasant surprise… and for the first time ever, I received SHOES in my fix!

Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Stitch Fix Review, May Edition

When I opened my box this month, I was SO excited to see shoes!  My stylist knows that I adore stripes, so these Nine West Onlee Pointed Toe Flats were perfect for me!

Nine West Onlee Pointed Toe Flats Stitch Fix Review May 2016

I was also drawn to the Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top, with it’s beautiful detailing and light, airy feel.

Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top Stitch Fix Review May 2016

So, looking a little further into my box, I decided to try these two “comfort zone” picks with something a bit more of a stretch for me– The Le Lis Cecilia Zipper Detail A-line Skirt.

Le Lis Cecilia Zipper detail Aline Skirt Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Let me first start by saying that I don’t a single yellow garment.  Not one.  And then I was also a bit wary of the zippers, with their red industrial-zipper background.

Le Lis Cecilia Zipper detail Aline Skirt Stitch Fix Review May 2016

However, one of the things that I love about Stitch Fix is that my wonderful stylist picks out things for me that I would never pick for myself, and often these end up being some of my favorites.  After all, I did love that the Cecila Skirt had a perfect wide, comfy waistband, A-line cut, and a pretty, subtle herringbone pattern.  So, I paired the two items that I was super comfortable with alongside the one that I wasn’t so sure about, and then I added a beautiful gray and crystal statement necklace that I got in my most recent Rocksbox* set.

Le Lis Cecilia Zipper detail Aline Skirt Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top Stitch Fix Review May 2016

The result?  Much better than I thought.  Very spring-like and perfect for a Sunday brunch or easy office day.

First lets talk about the shoes.  I love wearing flats, but always wear them barefoot (and don’t even speak of those little toe cover abominations– I loathe them).  So these beauties, while I loved the look, didn’t pass the comfortable-barefoot test.

Verdict still undetermined on the skirt, but it was beginning to grow on me.

And as for the Eyelet Top, I love it just as much as I did in the box.  I decided to see how it would look with shorts for a more casual, breezy summer feel.  I pulled out my Level 99 Cindie Printed Shorts from the Fix I received in May of last year and changed to a more casual shoe.

Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top Level 99 Cindie Printed Shorts Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Summer here I come!  The only negative of this top for me (though I love it) is that the front is lined, but the back is too sheer for my comfort.  I will have to wear a tank under it, which does detract a bit from it’s general breeziness, but not a deal breaker for me.

Next, I wanted to try the Papermoon Atta Dress.  This one was on my Pinterest board, and I loved the on-trend blush color and laser cut detailing.

Papermoon Atta Dress Stitch Fix Review May 2016

 

I added my new white Gap denim jacket that I got for a bargain on ThredUp* and a pretty gold wrap bracelet from Rocksbox*.

Papermoon Atta Dress Stitch Fix Review May 2016

This was one of those pieces that I would have totally picked for myself in a store, but once I put it on, it didn’t actually work for me.  The color wasn’t great on me, the elastic waist hit a bit too high, and the length was a bit awkward.  I’m really happy that I got to try it, but it was just not quite right for me after putting it on.

So, last but not least, I pulled out the RD Style Diggory Button Down Top.

RD Style Diggory Button Down Top Stitch Fix Review May 2016

First, I paired it with the Liverpool Susie Bermuda Shorts that I also received in my May Fix last year, a simple gold layered necklace and the same gold and white wrap bracelet (both from Rocksbox*)

RD Style Diggory Button Down Top Liverpool Suzie Bermudas Stitch Fix Review May 2016

 

At first, this top seemed much more casual than my typical choices, but once I put it on– oh my.  It is absolutely the softest-ever fabric, doesn’t wrinkle easily, and has appropriate sized armholes.  A surprise LOVE.

My stylist suggested pairing the Diggory Button Down with the Cecilia skirt, and while I was skeptical, I always try her recommendations.  I didn’t like it tucked, so I added a narrow belt instead and some heeled sandals.

RD Style Diggory Button Down Top Le Lis Cecilia Zipper detail Aline Skirt Stitch Fix Review May 2016

Surprisingly, it worked.  I will most often wear this top with shorts or jeans on casual days, but it can in fact be dressed up a bit as well.   And do you know what?  I actually decided that I do love the skirt.  It’s more versatile than I ever would have thought, so comfy, perfect length for me, and works surprisingly well for my style.

 

So, what did I keep? Here’s the rundown:

Nine West Onlee Pointed Toe Flats – RETURNED
Papermoon Atta Dress – RETURNED
Le Lis Cecila Zipper Detail Aline Skirt (Petite Sizing) – KEPT
Skies are Blue Cupertino Eyelet Detail Top (Petite Sizing) – KEPT
RD Style Diggory Button Down Top (Petite Sizing) – KEPT

*Discount/Referral links

  • Use this link to ThreadUp for $20 off your first order
  • Use invite code KATIERBFF6 to try Rocksbox free for the first month ($19 discount)

What is Stitch Fix Anyway?

For those of you unfamilar with Stitch Fix, in short it is an online personal styling service that sends five pieces of clothing and/or accessories that have been selected specifically for you by a personal stylist, based on your style, budget, and fit preferences. Your “fix” is delivered right to your door, and you can try everything on in the comfort of your home and style each piece with items you already own before decide what you’d like to keep. Keep what you want, and then send the rest back in the prepaid mailer. You pay only for what you keep, and while there is a $20 styling fee, this amount is deducted from the cost of the items you choose to keep. If you keep all five items, a 25% discount is applied.

It’s like Christmas to get a box of beautiful clothes that my sweet stylist has picked out just for me! I love shopping, but Iately I’m focusing on buying fewer, higher quality pieces that I absolutely love (rather than filling my closet with lots of “good deals” that I don’t feel fantastic wearing). Stitch Fix is helping me tremendously with this, and helps me discover new favorite pieces that I wouldn’t necessarily have picked for myself but end up loving.

Currently, I receive a scheduled “fix” each month (you can choose to schedule deliveries, or just request a box each time you want one).

Want to join the Stitch Fix fun yourself? Head on over and sign up! You’ll be glad you did!

Share-Pics-Of-Your-Fix-Button

P.S.- Want to see what other bloggers have received?  I’m participating in the link up over on Crazy Together, so check it out!

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for email notifications when new articles are posted!