Stitch Fix Review August 2015

Stitch Fix Review August 2015

Stitch Fix Review August 2015

Do you know about Stitch Fix?  If not, you should!

What is Stitch Fix?

In short, Stitch Fix is an online personal styling service that sends five pieces of clothing and/or accessories that have been selected specifically for you by a personal stylist, based on your style, budget, and fit preferences.  Your “fix” is delivered right to your door, and you can try everything on in the comfort of your home and style each piece with items you already own before decide what you’d like to keep.  Keep what you want, and then send the rest back in the prepaid mailer.  You pay only for what you keep, and while there is a $20 styling fee, this amount is deducted from the cost of the items you choose to keep.  If you keep all five items, a 25% discount is applied.

It’s like Christmas to get a box of beautiful clothes that my sweet stylist has picked out just for me!  I love shopping, but Iately I’m focusing on buying fewer, higher quality pieces that I absolutely love (rather than filling my closet with lots of “good deals” that I don’t feel fantastic wearing).  Stitch Fix is helping me tremendously with this, and helps me discover new favorite pieces that I wouldn’t necessarily have picked for myself but end up loving.

Currently, I receive a scheduled “fix” each month (you can choose to schedule deliveries, or just request a box each time you want one).

My August Stitch Fix Box Review

When I pulled this beautiful Ezra dress out of the box, I was immediately smitten.  My stylist really knows my style, and this is spot-on.  I love special details, and simply adore the feminine romantic vibe of this dress.

Ezra Brianna Dress - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

I was a little apprehensive though, because crew neck styles are not always the most flattering on me.  However, I paired it with a gold bubble necklace that hangs a bit lower and was pleasantly surprised.  Disregard the fact that I forgot to zip the side up– I’m a dork. In any case, a definite keeper.

Ezra Brianna Dress - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

Next I tried the second dress in my box,  the Freeway Jonah Dress.  I love a stripe and really liked the shape of this dress.

Freeway Jonah Dress - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

I paired it with my  espadrille wedges from Lands End (I would substitute these Uggs since the same color is no longer available) and a silver and shell link necklace.  I REALLY wanted to love this dress, but just didn’t.  The combination of a crew neck and the horizontal stripes just was not flattering on me, and the cap sleeves were a bit small and stiff for taste.  I felt like I was wearing shoulder pads.  So, back it went.

Freeway Jonah Dress - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

I have seen the Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff shorts in other people’s fixes, and was excited to get to try them myself.

Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

As suggested by my stylist, I paired these with the Collective Concepts Verano Crochet Detail Blouse {petite sizing here}.

Collective Concepts Verano Crochet Detail Blouse - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

I really liked the shorts, but the top didn’t look right tucked in, yet was too wide and boxy for wearing with shorts when untucked. (Necklace 31 bits, sandals here)

Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short Collective Concepts Vera Crochet Detail Blouse - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

I switched to a white lace Daniel Rainn top that I got for a steal on ThredUp (use my link for $20 your first purchase) and left on my fav flat sandals.  They match everything.  Seriously.  Anyway, back to the clothes, I felt like a less drapey shirt was more flattering with these shorts.  In the end, I really liked these shorts, but felt like I already have enough shorts for now so I exercised some self control and sent them back.

Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

Last but not least, I tried on the Papermoon Kacy Embellished Knit Top.  I absolutely love the beaded detailing around the neckline.

Papermoon Kacy Embellished Knit Top - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

As suggested by my stylist, I paired it with the white Suzie Liverpool Bermudas I got 2 fixes ago and my black Ugg Wedges.  I really like this outfit because it’s super comfy, but still looks put together.  Keeper!

Papermoon Kacy Embellished Knit Top Liverpool Suzie Bermudas - Stitch Fix Review August 2015

So, Here’s the rundown:

  • Collective Concepts Verano Crochet Detail Blouse (Petite sizing) – RETURNED
  • Dear John Finnegan Cuff Chino Short – RETURNED
  • Papermoon Kacy Embellished Knit Top – KEPT
  • Ezra Brianna Dress – KEPT
  • Freeway Jonah Dress – RETURNED

So what do you think? Did I make the right choices?

Want to join the Stitch Fix fun yourself?  Head on over and sign up!  You’ll be glad you did!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for email notifications when new articles are posted!